什么是比特币?

比特币是第一个也是迄今受到最广泛认可的加密货币。它通过使用一个去中心化的协议、 加密算法以及一个在公共交易账本(区块链)的状态上达成全球共识的机制,实现数字领域中点对点的价值交换。

实际上,比特币是一种数字货币,它 (1) 独立于任何政府、国家或金融机构而存在;(2) 可以在全球范围内转移, 而不需要一家中心化的中介机构;并且 (3) 货币政策众所周知,不能修改。

比特币即可以指比特币软件协议,也可以指货币单位,它的货币符号为 BTC。

比特币于 2009 年 1 月向一个小众的技术专家小组匿名推出,如今,比特币已成为一种在全球范围内交易的金融资产, 日结算量达到数百亿美元。尽管比特币的监管状态因地区而异,而且还在持续演变,但其最常见的监管方式是作为一种货币或商品, 并且比特币的使用在所有主要经济体中都是合法的(有不同程度的限制)。

目录

  1. 比特币的起源、早期发展和演变
  2. 比特币的用途是什么?
  3. 比特币的基本特征:
  4. 比特币的经济特征
  5. 是谁决定了什么是比特币?

比特币的起源、早期发展和演变

比特币起源于 2008 年发布的比特币白皮书(即,《比特币:一种点对点式的电子现金系统》)中提出的理念。

白皮书中详细介绍了“允许任何两个有意愿的当事人直接进行交易,而不需要一个信任的第三方”的方法。 白皮书中部署的技术解决了“双重支付”问题,首次使数字稀缺性成为可能。

这篇论文的署名作者是中本聪,据推测是一个人或团体的笔名,他的身份至今仍是个谜。中本聪于 2009 年 1 月 9 日发布了第一个开源的比特币软件客户端,任何安装了该客户端的人都可以开始使用比特币。

比特币是在数字世界进行价值交易的一种新方法,比特币网络的最初发展主要由这种实用性驱动。早期的支持者大体上都是“密码朋克”,即主张使用强大的密码学和隐私增强技术来推动社会和政治变革的人士。然而,对比特币未来价值的猜测很快就成为使用比特币的一个重要驱动力。

在接下来的十年里,比特币的价格和用户数量呈波浪式增长。随着主要经济体的监管机构明确了比特币的合法性,大量的比特币交易所建立了与银行的关联,使得当地货币与比特币之间可以轻松兑换。随着越来越多的知名投资者表现出对比特币的兴趣,其他的一些企业也建立了强大的托管服务,使机构投资者更容易接触到这种资产。

比特币的用途是什么?

在最基本的层面上,比特币可用于在传统金融体系之外进行价值交易。例如,如果人们使用比特币进行国际支付,那么与传统的结算方式如 SWIFT 或 ACH 网络相比,比特币的结算速度更快、更安全,而且交易费用更低。

在早期阶段,网络普及度较低,比特币甚至可以用来结算小额交易,与 Visa 和 Mastercard 等支付网络(它们的结算交易速度要慢得多)形成竞争。但是,随着比特币的使用日趋广泛,扩容发行使其作为小额物品交换媒介的竞争力下降。这支持了一种说法,即比特币成为了黄金的替代品,或者说是“数字黄金”。 这里面的投资理论是,比特币的价值源自于其所融合的技术突破、供应上限(货币政策“已嵌入代码”)和强大的网络效应等综合因素。

另一种流行的说法是,比特币支持经济自由。据称,之所以能够发挥这种作用,是因为比特币在基于选择性加入的机制上提供了一种能够有效防护以下不利因素的替代货币:(1) 货币没收;(2) 审查;和 (3) 通过不加限制的通胀实现贬值。请注意,这种说法与“数字黄金”的说法并不矛盾。

比特币的基本特征:

  • 去中心化:没有人可以控制或拥有比特币网络,也没有 CEO。相反,比特币网络由同意协议规则(采取开源软件客户端的形式)的自愿参与者构成。对协议的修改必须由用户达成共识,并且应该有广泛的支持者的声音,这包括“节点”、最终用户、开发人员、矿工和相关行业参与者(如交易所、钱包服务提供商和托管机构)。这使比特币成为一个准政治系统。

    阅读更多:比特币治理是如何进行的

  • 分布式:所有比特币交易都记录在一个叫做区块链的公共账本上。该网络的运行依赖于人们自动存储账本的副本并运行比特币协议软件。这些“节点”通过遵循由软件定义的协议规则,为交易的正确传播做出贡献。比特币网路目前有超过 80,000 个节点分布在全球各地,这使得比特币网络几乎不可能出现停运或信息丢失的情况。
  • 透明:向区块链账本添加新的交易,以及比特币网络在任何特定时间的状态(即“事实”)均按照协议规则,以透明的方式达成共识。
  • 点对点:尽管节点传播了网络的状态(“事实”),但付款实际上是在个人或企业之间直接完成的。这意味着不需要任何“受信任的第三方”来充当中介。
  • 无需许可:任何人都可以使用比特币,没有“守门人”,也不需要创建“比特币账户”。 任何和所有遵循协议规则的交易都会按照设定的共识机制被网络所确认。
  • 伪匿名。身份信息不与比特币交易相关联,这是比特币的固有属性。相反,交易与地址相关联,地址采取随机生成的字母数字字符串的形式。
  • 抗审查:由于所有遵循协议规则的比特币交易都是有效的,交易是伪匿名的,而且用户自己拥有他们所持有的比特币的“密钥”,因此监管机构很难禁止个人使用比特币或扣押他们的比特币资产。这对自由和民主有着非常重要的意义。
  • 公开:所有的比特币交易都被记录下来,而且任何人都可以查看。虽然这几乎消除了欺诈的可能性,但也导致在某些情况下,通过推断将个人身份与特定的比特币地址关联在一起成为可能。

比特币的经济特征

  • 固定的供应量:比特币协议中的一个关键参数是,比特币的供应量将随着时间的推移最终扩增到 2,100 万枚的总货币量。这种固定且已知的总供应量使比特币成为一种“硬资产”,这也是促使比特币被认为具有投资价值的几个特点之一。
  • 抗通胀:按照内置于代码中的时间表,新的比特币被添加到流通供应量中的速度会逐渐减慢。从每个区块 50 个比特币开始(大约每 10 分钟增加一个新区块),发行速度大约每四年会减半一次。2020 年 5 月,第三次减半将发行速度从每个区块 12.5 个比特币减少到 6.25 个。此时,2,100 万个比特币中的 1,837.5 万个(占总数的 87.5%)已被“挖掘出来”。 第四次减半将发生在 2024 年,届时发行速度将减少到 3.125 个 BTC,以此类推,直到大约 2136 年,将发生最后一次减半,届时区块奖励将减少到只有 0.00000168 BTC。
  • 激励驱动:有一群被称为矿工的核心参与者,受利益驱动,贡献出维护网络运行和保障网络安全所需的能量。矿工们通过一个被称为工作量证明 (PoW) 的过程,相互竞争着向构成账本(区块链)的链上添加新的区块。与 PoW 挖矿相关的硬件和能源成本以去中心化的方式以博弈论驱动的原则促进了网络安全。盈利动机被认为是赋予内生增长的重要因素。

阅读更多:什么是比特币挖矿?

是谁决定了什么是比特币?

比特币不是一个静态的协议。它可以并且已经在其整个生命周期中融合了各种变化,今后还将继续演变。尽管人们会使用一些正规化的程序来升级比特币(请参阅“比特币的治理是如何进行的?”),但比特币协议的治理最终是基于协商、劝导和自愿的。换句话说,比特币是什么由人们来共同决定。

在一些情形中,社区中曾对比特币的发展方向产生了很大的分歧。当这些分歧无法通过协商和劝导来解决时,一部分用户可能会出于他们自身的意愿,选择承认另一个不同版本的比特币。

拥有最多追随者的比特币替代版本被称为比特币现金 (BCH)。它产生于一项旨在解决交易成本上升和交易确认时间延长问题的提议。比特币现金诞生于 2017 年 8 月 1 日。

这个有帮助吗?

What is Bitcoin Cash?

Bitcoin Cash is a decentralized peer-to-peer electronic cash system that does not rely on any central authority like a government or financial institution

查看 →
如何创建比特币钱包

通过安装 Bitcoin.com Wallet 应用程序来创建比特币钱包

查看 →
学习基础知识

关于比特币及其重要性的简单介绍

查看 →
比特币如何收税?

比特币税收入门指南

查看 →
数字资产安全

运用这些简单的小技巧,确保您的数字资产安全

查看 →
如何购买比特币

比特币购买入门指南

查看 →
如何卖出比特币

比特币卖出入门指南

查看 →
从此处开始 →
使用 Bitcoin.com 钱包,开始安全投资
已生成超过 20百万 个钱包

安全买卖、交易和投资比特币及其他加密货币所需要的一切

你收件箱中的 Bitcoin.com

每周的重要新闻提要,加上为经济自由提供支持的教育资源和产品及服务更新

What is Bitcoin?

Bitcoin is the first and most widely recognized cryptocurrency. It enables peer-to-peer exchange of value in the digital realm through the use of a decentralized protocol, cryptography, and a mechanism to achieve global consensus on the state of a periodically updated public transaction ledger called a 'blockchain.'

Practically speaking, Bitcoin is a form of digital money that (1) exists independently of any government, state, or financial institution, (2) can be transferred globally without the need for a centralized intermediary, and (3) has a known monetary policy that arguably cannot be altered.

At a deeper level, Bitcoin can be described as a political, philosophical, and economic system. This is thanks to the combination of the technical features it integrates, the wide array of participants and stakeholders, and the process for making changes to the protocol.

Bitcoin can refer to the Bitcoin software protocol as well as to the monetary unit, which goes by the ticker symbol BTC.

Launched anonymously in January 2009 to a niche group of technologists, Bitcoin is now a globally traded financial asset with daily settled volume measured in the tens of billions of dollars. Although its regulatory status varies by region and continues to evolve, Bitcoin is most commonly regulated as either a currency or a commodity, and is legal to use (with varying levels of restrictions) in all major economies.

Table of Contents

  1. Bitcoin's origin, early growth, and evolution
  2. What is Bitcoin used for?
  3. Bitcoin’s basic features
  4. Bitcoin's economic features
  5. Who decides what Bitcoin is?

Bitcoin's origin, early growth, and evolution

Bitcoin is based on the ideas laid out in a 2008 whitepaper titled Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System.

The paper detailed methods for "allowing any two willing parties to transact directly with each other without the need for a trusted third party." The technologies deployed solved the 'double spend' problem, enabling scarcity in the digital environment for the first time.

The listed author of the paper is Satoshi Nakamoto, a presumed pseudonym for a person or group whose true identity remains a mystery. Nakamoto released the first open-source Bitcoin software client on January 9th, 2009, and anyone who installed the client could begin using Bitcoin.

Initial growth of the Bitcoin network was driven primarily by its utility as a novel method for transacting value in the digital world. Early proponents were, by and large, 'cypherpunks' - individuals who advocated the use of strong cryptography and privacy-enhancing technologies as a route to social and political change. However, speculation as to the future value of Bitcoin soon became a significant driver of adoption.

The price of bitcoin and the number of Bitcoin users rose in waves over the following decade. As regulators in major economies provided clarity on the legality of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies, a large number of Bitcoin exchanges established banking connections, making it easy to convert local currency to and from bitcoin. Other businesses established robust custodial services, making it easier for institutional investors to gain exposure to the asset as a growing number of high-profile investors signaled their interest.

What is Bitcoin used for?

At its most basic level, Bitcoin is useful for transacting value outside of the traditional financial system. People use Bitcoin to, for example, make international payments that are settled faster, more securely, and at lower transactional fees than through legacy settlement methods such as the SWIFT or ACH networks.

In the early years, when network adoption was sparse, Bitcoin could be used to settle even small-value transactions, and do so competitively with payment networks like Visa and Mastercard (which, in fact, settle transactions long after point of sale). However, as Bitcoin became more widely used, scaling issues made it less competitive as a medium of exchange for small-value items. In short, it became prohibitively expensive to settle small-value transactions due to limited throughput on the ledger and the lack of availability of second-layer solutions. This supported the narrative that Bitcoin's primary value is less as a payment network and more as an alternative to gold, or 'digital gold.' Here, the argument is that Bitcoin derives value from a combination of the technological breakthroughs it integrates, its capped supply with 'built-into-the-code' monetary policy, and its powerful network effects. In this regard, the investment thesis is that Bitcoin could replace gold and potentially become a form of 'pristine collateral' for the global economy.

Another popular narrative is that Bitcoin supports economic freedom. It is said to do this by providing, on an opt-in basis, an alternative form of money that integrates strong protection against (1) monetary confiscation, (2) censorship, and (3) devaluation through uncapped inflation. Note that this narrative is not mutually exclusive from the 'digital gold' narrative.

Bitcoin’s basic features

  • Decentralized: Nobody controls or owns the Bitcoin network, and there is no CEO. Instead, the network consists of willing participants who agree to the rules of a protocol (which takes the form of an open-source software client). Changes to the protocol must be made by the consensus of its users and there is a wide array of contributing voices including 'nodes,' end users, developers, 'miners,' and adjacent industry participants like exchanges, wallet providers, and custodians. This makes Bitcoin a quasi-political system. Of the thousands of cryptocurrencies in existence, Bitcoin is arguably the most decentralized, an attribute that is considered to strengthen its position as pristine collateral for the global economy.

Read more: How does governance work in Bitcoin?

  • Distributed: All Bitcoin transactions are recorded on a public ledger that has come to be known as the 'blockchain.' The network relies on people voluntarily storing copies of the ledger and running the Bitcoin protocol software. These 'nodes' contribute to the correct propagation of transactions across the network by following the rules of the protocol as defined by the software client. There are currently more than 80,000 nodes distributed globally, making it next to impossible for the network to suffer downtime or lost information.
  • Transparent: The addition of new transactions to the blockchain ledger and the state of the Bitcoin network at any given time (in other words, the 'truth' of who owns how much bitcoin) is arrived upon by consensus and in a transparent manner according to the rules of the protocol.
  • Peer-to-peer: Although nodes store and propagate the state of the network (the 'truth'), payments effectively go directly from one person or business to another. This means there’s no need for any ‘trusted third party’ to act as an intermediary.
  • Permissionless: Anyone can use Bitcoin, there are no gatekeepers, and there is no need to create a 'Bitcoin account.' Any and all transactions that follow the rules of the protocol will be confirmed by the network along the defined consensus mechanisms.
  • Pseudo-anonymous. Identity information isn't inherently tied to Bitcoin transactions. Instead, transactions are tied to addresses that take the form of randomly generated alphanumeric strings.
  • Censorship resistant: Since all Bitcoin transactions that follow the rules of the protocol are valid, since transactions are pseudo-anonymous, and since users themselves possess the 'key' to their bitcoin holdings, it is difficult for authorities to ban individuals from using it or to seize their assets. This carries important implications for economic freedom, and may even act as a counteracting force to authoritarianism globally.
  • Public: All Bitcoin transactions are recorded and publicly available for anyone to see. While this virtually eliminates the possibility of fraudulent transactions, it also makes it possible to, in some cases, tie by deduction individual identities to specific Bitcoin addresses. A number of efforts to enhance Bitcoin's privacy are underway, but their integration into the protocol is ultimately subject to Bitcoin's quasi-political governance process.

Bitcoin's economic features

  • Fixed supply: One of the key parameters in the Bitcoin protocol is that the supply will expand over time to a final tally of 21 million coins. This fixed and known total supply, it is argued, makes Bitcoin a 'hard asset,' one of several characteristics that has contributed to its perceived value from an investment perspective.
  • Disinflationary: The rate that new bitcoins are added to the circulating supply gradually decreases along a defined schedule that is built into the code. Starting at 50 bitcoins per block (a new block is added approximately every 10 minutes), the issuance rate is cut in half approximately every four years. In May 2020, the third halving reduced the issuance rate from 12.5 to 6.25 bitcoins per block. At that point 18,375,000 of the 21 million coins (87.5% of the total) had been 'mined.' The fourth halving, in 2024, will reduce the issuance to 3.125 BTC, and so on until approximately the year 2136, when the final halving will decrease the block reward to just 0.00000168 BTC.
  • Incentive driven: A core set of participants, known as miners, are driven by profit to contribute the resources needed to maintain and secure the network. Through a process known as Proof-of-Work (PoW), miners compete to add new blocks to the chain that constitutes the ledger (the blockchain). The hardware and energy costs associated with PoW mining contribute to the security of the network in a decentralized fashion along game-theory driven principles. The profit motive is considered important in this regard. Further, since miners tend to sell their earned bitcoin to cover their significant mining-related costs, the mining process is seen as a fair mechanism for widely distributing bitcoin.

Read more: What is Bitcoin mining?

Who decides what Bitcoin is?

Bitcoin is not a static protocol. It can and has integrated changes throughout its lifetime, and it will continue to evolve. While there are a number of formalized procedures for upgrading Bitcoin (see "How does Bitcoin governance work?"), governance of the protocol is ultimately based on deliberation, persuasion, and volition. In other words, people decide what Bitcoin is.

In several instances, there have been significant disagreements amongst the community as to the direction that Bitcoin should take. When such disagreements cannot be resolved through deliberation and persuasion, a portion of users may - of their own volition - choose to acknowledge a different version of Bitcoin.

The alternative version of Bitcoin with the greatest number of adherents has come to be known as Bitcoin Cash (BCH). It arose out of a proposal aiming to solve scaling problems that had resulted in rising transaction costs and increasing transaction confirmation times. This version of Bitcoin began on August 1st, 2017.

Was this helpful?

Related guides

Start from here →
What is Bitcoin Cash?

What is Bitcoin Cash? A quick guide to the origin and features of Bitcoin Cash

Read this article →
How do I create a Bitcoin wallet?

Creating a Bitcoin wallet is as easy as installing software on your mobile device or computer

Read this article →
Learn the basics

Get a simple introduction to Bitcoin and why it matters

Read this article →
How is bitcoin taxed?

Learn the basics of bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies taxation

Read this article →
How do I keep my bitcoin safe?

Make sure your digital assets are safe with these simple tips

Read this article →
How do I buy bitcoin?

Learn how to get your first bitcoin in minutes

Read this article →
How do I sell bitcoin?

Learn how to sell bitcoin into local currency safely

Read this article →
Start from here →
Start investing safely with the Bitcoin.com Wallet

The full-service Bitcoin Wallet trusted by millions

Everything you need to buy, sell, trade, and invest your Bitcoin and cryptocurrency securely

Bitcoin.com in your inbox

A weekly rundown of the news that matter, plus educational resources and updates on products & services that support economic freedom