Что такое некастодиальный кошелек?

Содержание

  1. Кастодиальные и некастодиальные кошельки
  2. Все ли биткоин-кошельки некастодиальные?
  3. Какие риски связаны с использованием кастодиальных биткоин-кошельков?
  4. Как узнать, использую ли я некастодиальный кошелек?

Кастодиальные и некастодиальные кошельки

В современной финансовой системе хранение ваших активов такими поставщиками услуг, как банки, является стандартной практикой. Это означает, что когда вы хотите снять средства со своего банковского счета, вам приходится запрашивать разрешение у своего банка, несмотря на то, что у вас могут быть законные права на эти деньги. Банки могут отказать и регулярно отказывают в таком разрешении, и причины, по которым они это делают, не всегда совпадают с интересами отдельных клиентов. Более того, даже когда поставщики услуг добросовестно соблюдают права своих клиентов, внешние факторы могут заставить их отказать вам в доступе к вашим деньгам. Например, правительство может заставить банки ограничить снятие средств со счетов в попытке остановить безудержную инфляцию, как это произошло в Греции в 2015 году. Еще один, возможно, даже более коварный пример — операция Choke Point, когда правительство США оказывало давление на банки, чтобы они отказывали в обслуживании людям, задействованным в различных (легальных) отраслях, которые оно определило как морально коррумпированные.

С появлением децентрализованных систем, главным примером которых является Bitcoin, впервые стало возможным предоставлять некастодиальные финансовые услуги в больших масштабах. В этой модели клиент всегда сохраняет полный контроль над своими активами, используя поставщика услуг только в качестве интерфейса, который позволяет ему удобно управлять своими активами.

При установке некастодиального биткоин-кошелька, (например, Bitcoin.com Wallet), во-первых, вам не нужно запрашивать разрешение на использование сервиса. Нет процесса утверждения аккаунта. Любой человек в мире может скачать приложение и сразу же начать им пользоваться. Во-вторых, только у вас есть доступ к вашим средствам. Это делает практически невозможным для поставщика услуг (в данном случае Bitcoin.com), правительства или кого-либо еще помешать вам использовать свои средства так, как вы хотите.

Конечно, с большой властью приходит большая ответственность. Поскольку доступ к вашим средствам есть только у вас, вам необходимо соблюдать осторожность в управлении своим кошельком. Как упоминалось ранее, это включает в себя резервное копирование кошелька и соблюдение передовой практики управления паролями.

Все ли биткоин-кошельки некастодиальные?

Конечно, нет. Централизованные биржи криптовалюты, такие как Coinbase, Binance и Bitcoin.com Exchange, предлагают кастодиальные биткоин-кошельки (так называемые «веб-кошельки»). Такие биржи удобны для покупки, продажи и обмена биткоинов на большое количество других цифровых активов, но когда вы используете эти биржи, ваши биткоины находятся в доверительном управлении у биржи.

Какие риски связаны с использованием кастодиальных биткоин-кошельков?

Риски подобны, а во многих случаях превышают риски, связанные с хранением ваших средств в банке или использованием платежного приложения, такого как PayPal. Они связаны с тем, что, в сущности, у вас нет полного контроля над своими средствами.

Во-первых, так как хранение финансовых активов является регулируемой деятельностью, централизованные биржи криптовалюты зависят от прихотей регуляторов своей юрисдикции. Это означает, что всегда существует вероятность, что однажды вы проснетесь и обнаружите, что ваши биткоины заморожены. Во-вторых, биржа может взимать дополнительную комиссию за снятие средств (что достаточно распространено), замедлять процесс снятия средств (также частое явление) или вообще мешать вам выводить свои средства (редко, но не невозможно). И наконец, всегда существует риск того, что биржа обанкротится и присвоит себе ваши биткоины, а так как биржи криптовалюты, как правило, не застрахованы и зачастую регистрируются в офшорах, вероятно, у вас даже не будет возможности обратиться за помощью куда-либо.

Как узнать, использую ли я некастодиальный кошелек?

Все некастодиальные биткоин-кошельки позволяют вам иметь свой закрытый ключ, связанный с вашим публичным Bitcoin-адресом. Обычно он имеет форму файла или мнемонической фразы, состоящей из 12-24 случайно сгенерированных слов. Если у вашего биткоин-кошелька нет этой опции, значит он является кастодиальным (то есть у вас нет полного контроля над вашими биткоинами).

Кошелек Bitcoin.com Wallet, являющийся полностью некастодиальным, также имеет облачный сервис резервного копирования (помимо возможности хранить ваш закрытый ключ в виде мнемонической фразы). В нем вы можете создать единый индивидуальный пароль, который расшифровывает файл, хранящийся на вашем Google Диске или в Apple iCloud. Если вы потеряете доступ к своему устройству, вы сможете переустановить приложение кошелька на новое устройство, ввести пароль и снова получить доступ ко всем вашим биткоинам (и другим цифровым активам в кошельке). Кроме того, каждый раз, когда вы будете добавлять дополнительные кошельки в ваш Bitcoin.com Wallet, файл резервной копии будет синхронизироваться автоматически. Это означает, что вам не придется беспокоиться о создании новой резервной копии для каждого дополнительного кошелька!

Подробнее: Каковы преимущества облачного сервиса резервного копирования кошелька Bitcoin.com Wallet?

Было полезно?

Похожие статьи

Начните здесь →
Как создать биткоин-кошелек

CСоздайте биткоин-кошелек, установив приложение Bitcoin.com Wallet

Читать статью →
Безопасность цифровых активов

MОбеспечьте безопасность своих цифровых активов с помощью этих простых советов

Читать статью →
Как отправить биткоины

Чтобы отправить биткоины, укажите сумму и Bitcoin-адрес получателя в своем биткоин-кошельке.

Читать статью →
Как мне получить биткоин?

Чтобы получить биткоин, поделитесь с отправителем адресом своего биткоин кошелька.

Читать статью →
Как биткоин облагается налогом?

Путеводитель по налогообложению биткоина

Читать статью →
Начните здесь →
Начните безопасно инвестировать с Bitcoin.com Wallet
Создано более 20 миллионов кошельков

Все, что нужно для безопасной покупки, продажи, обмена и инвестирования биткоинов и криптовалюты

Bitcoin.com в вашем почтовом ящике

Еженедельное краткое изложение важных новостей, а также образовательные ресурсы и новости продуктов и услуг, поддерживающих экономическую свободу.

What's a non-custodial wallet?

Table of Contents

  1. Custodial versus non-custodial wallets
  2. Are all cryptocurrency wallets non-custodial?
  3. What are the risks associated with custodial cryptocurrency wallets?
  4. Are there any other reasons to use a non-custodial wallet?
  5. How do I know if I'm using a non-custodial wallet?

Custodial versus non-custodial wallets

In modern finance, it's standard practice for service providers like banks to retain custody of your assets. This means that when you want to make a withdrawal from your bank account for example, while you may have a legal claim to the money, the reality is that you're asking for permission from your bank. Banks can and regularly do deny such permission, and their reasons for doing so do not always align with the best interests of individual customers. Further, even when service providers uphold the custody rights of their customers in good faith, factors outside of their control may force them to deny you access to your money. For example, a government may force banks to restrict withdrawals in an attempt to stop runaway inflation, as happened in Greece in 2015. Another, perhaps more insidious example, is Operation Choke Point, where the US government pressured banks to deny service to people involved in a variety of (legal) industries it had identified as morally corrupt.

With the advent of blockchain-supported decentralized systems - of which Bitcoin is the primary example - it became possible, for the first time, to provide non-custodial financial services at a large scale. In the non-custodial model, the customer retains full custody (possession) of their assets at all times, using the service provider merely as an interface for conveniently managing their assets.

When you use a non-custodial wallet (like the Bitcoin.com Wallet), first of all, you don't need to ask for permission to use the service. There's no account approval process, meaning anyone in the world can download the app and start using it immediately. Secondly, only you have access to your funds. This makes it nearly impossible for the service provider (in our case Bitcoin.com), a government, or anyone else to prevent you from using your funds exactly as you wish.

Of course, with great power comes great responsibility! Since you're the only one with access to your funds, you need to manage your wallet carefully. This includes backing up your wallet and adhering to password management best practices.

Are all cryptocurrency wallets non-custodial?

Absolutely not. Centralized cryptocurrency exchanges (Coinbase, Binance, etc.) provide custodial cryptocurrency wallets (sometimes known as 'web wallets'). While such exchanges are useful for buying, selling, and trading cryptoassets, when you use these exchanges, your crypto is held in trust by the exchange.

What are the risks associated with custodial cryptocurrency wallets?

The risks are similar to (and in many cases greater than) those associated with holding your money at a bank or using a payment app like PayPal. The risks stem from the fact that, fundamentally, you're not in full control of your funds.

Firstly, since taking custody of financial assets is a regulated activity, centralized cryptocurrency exchanges are subject to the whims of regulators in the jurisdiction they are domiciled. Since cryptocurrency regulations are in a state of flux in most regions, this means there's always the possibility that you'll wake up to find you are unable to access your cryptoassets. Secondly, the exchange may charge extra fees for withdrawals (which is common), slow down your withdrawal process (also common), or prevent you from withdrawing altogether (rare but not impossible). Finally, there's always the risk that the exchange will go bankrupt, get hacked, or intentionally dissolve - and since cryptocurrency exchanges generally aren't insured and are often registered offshore, it's likely you'll lose your cryptoassets and have no recourse to action.

Are there any other reasons to use a non-custodial wallet?

Non-custodial crypto wallets provide you with direct access to public blockchains. The best wallets, like the Bitcoin.com Wallet, allow you customize the fees you pay to public blockchain miners and validators. This means, for example, that you can choose to pay less for transactions when you're not in a hurry (or more if you're in a rush!). Finally, because non-custodial wallets provide direct access to blockchains, they also enable you to interact with smart contracts. That means, for example, you can access decentralized finance products that enable you to earn passive income.

How do I know if I'm using a non-custodial wallet?

All non-custodial crypto wallets enable you (and only you) to possess the private key associated with your public address. This typically takes the form of either a file or a 'mnemonic phrase' that consists of 12-24 randomly generated words. If your wallet doesn't have this option, it's custodial (meaning you're not in full control of your cryptoassets).

The Bitcoin.com Wallet, which is fully non-custodial, also offers a cloud backup service (in addition to giving you the option to store the private key for each of your wallets as a mnemonic phrase). With the cloud backup service, you create a single custom password that decrypts a file stored in your Google Drive or Apple iCloud account. If you lose access to your device, simply reinstall the Wallet app on a new device, enter your password, and you'll again have access to all of your cryptoassets. Further, whenever you add more wallets within your Bitcoin.com Wallet, your backup file will automatically sync. This means you never have to worry about creating or managing a new backup for each new wallet you create!

Read more: What are the advantages of the Bitcoin.com Wallet cloud backup service?

Was this helpful?

Related guides

Start from here →
How do I create a Bitcoin wallet?

Learn how to quickly and easily create a Bitcoin wallet. Understand the different wallet types and their respective pros & cons.

Read this article →
How do I keep my cryptoassets safe?

Make sure your cryptoassets are safe with these simple tips.

Read this article →
How do I send bitcoin?

Sending bitcoin is as easy as choosing the amount to send and deciding where it goes.

Read this article →
How do I receive bitcoin?

To receive bitcoin, simply provide the sender with your address. You just need to make sure you're providing the right one.

Read this article →
How is cryptocurrency taxed?

Get the basics of how cryptocurrencies are taxed and what it means for you.

Read this article →
Start from here →
Start investing safely with the Bitcoin.com Wallet
Over 20 million wallets created so far

Everything you need to buy, sell, trade, and invest your Bitcoin and cryptocurrency securely

Bitcoin.com in your inbox

A weekly rundown of the news that matter, plus educational resources and updates on products & services that support economic freedom