什么是非托管式比特币钱包?

目录

  1. 托管式钱包与非托管式钱包
  2. 所有的比特币钱包都是非托管的吗?
  3. 托管式比特币钱包有哪些风险?
  4. 我怎么知道我是否在使用非托管式的比特币钱包?

托管式钱包与非托管式钱包

在现代金融业中,诸如银行之类的金融服务提供商会保留对客户资产的保管权,这是行业的标准做法。这意味着,当您想从您的银行账户中取款时,尽管您可能对这笔钱有合法的提取权利,但实际上您是在征求银行的许可。银行可以而且经常会拒绝给予此类许可,而且他们拒绝的理由并不总是符合个人客户的最佳利益。此外,即使服务提供商真心诚意地维护客户的保管权,他们也可能会迫于其控制之外的因素而拒绝您使用自己的资金。例如,为了阻止失控的通货膨胀,政府可能会强制要求银行限制取款,就像 2015 年在希腊发生的那样。另一个也许更隐蔽的例子是瓶颈点行动 (Operation Choke Point)——美国政府向银行施压,迫使银行拒绝为从事被认定为道德败坏的(合法)行业的人提供服务。

随着去中心化系统的出现(其中,比特币是最典型的例子),第一次使大规模提供非托管金融服务成为可能。在这种模式下,客户始终保留对其资产的完全保管权,而服务提供商仅仅作为一个界面,让客户能够方便地管理自己的资产。

如果您安装一种非托管式的比特币钱包(如Bitcoin.com Wallet),首先,您不需要获得任何许可就可以使用钱包服务。它也没有账户审批程序。世界上任何人都可以下载这个应用程序并能够立即使用。其次,只有您自己可以访问您的资金。这使得,服务提供商(在我们的例子中是 Bitcoin.com)、政府以及其他任何人几乎没有可能阻止您完全按照自己的意愿使用您的资金。

当然,巨大的权力总会伴随巨大的责任。由于您是唯一可以访问您的资金的人,您需要妥善管理您的钱包。如前所述,这包括备份钱包以及遵从密码管理最佳实践

所有的比特币钱包都是非托管的吗?

当然不是。对于像 Coinbase、Binance 和 Bitcoin.com Exchange 之类的中心化加密货币交易所,他们提供的是托管式的比特币钱包(有时被称为“网络钱包”)。尽管此类交易所在买卖比特币以及将比特币兑换成其他数字资产方面很有用,但当您使用这些交易所时,您的比特币是由交易所保管的。

托管式比特币钱包有哪些风险?

托管式比特币钱包的风险与把钱存在银行或使用 PayPal 等支付应用程序的风险类似,而且在许多情况下要比后者更大。这些风险源于一个事实,即从根本上说,您不能完全控制您的资金。

首先,由于保管金融资产是一项受监管的业务活动,中心化的加密货币交易所受制于其所在司法管辖区监管者制定的监管政策。这意味着,您可能一觉醒来,发现自己的比特币被冻结了。其次,交易所可能会对提币/款收取额外费用(这很常见),拖慢提币/款过程(也很常见),或者完全不让您提币/款(罕见,但并非不可能)。最后,交易所始终存在破产的风险,可能会把您的比特币一起带走,而且,由于加密货币交易所一般不上保险,而且通常都注册在海外,所以您很可能对此无法采取任何行动。

我怎么知道我是否在使用非托管式的比特币钱包?

所有非托管式的比特币钱包都允许您拥有与您的公共比特币地址相关联的私钥。它通常采取的形式是一个文件或一个由 12-24 个随机生成的字组成的助记词。如果您的比特币钱包没有这个选项,它就是托管式的钱包(意味着您不能完全控制自己的比特币)。

Bitcoin.com Wallet 是一个完全非托管式的比特币钱包,除了可以让您选择将私钥存储为助记词之外,还提供云备份服务。在这里,您需要创建一个单一的自定义密码,来解密存储在您的 Google Drive 或 Apple iCloud 中的文件。如果您失去了对您设备的访问权,您可以在新的设备上重新安装钱包应用程序,输入密码,就可以重新访问您所有的比特币(和钱包中的其他数字资产)了。此外,每当您在 Bitcoin.com Wallet 中添加更多的钱包时,您的备份文件将自动同步。因此,您永远不必因为每创建一个新钱包需要建立一个新备份而烦忧!

阅读更多:Bitcoin.com Wallet 云备份服务的优势是什么?

这个有帮助吗?

如何创建比特币钱包

通过安装 Bitcoin.com Wallet 应用程序来创建比特币钱包

查看 →
数字资产安全

运用这些简单的小技巧,确保您的数字资产安全

查看 →
如何发送比特币

如何发送比特币

查看 →
如何接收比特币?

要接收比特币,只需向发送者提供你的地址。 你需要确任提供的是正确的地址。

查看 →
比特币如何收税?

比特币税收入门指南

查看 →
从此处开始 →
使用 Bitcoin.com 钱包,开始安全投资
已生成超过 20百万 个钱包

安全买卖、交易和投资比特币及其他加密货币所需要的一切

你收件箱中的 Bitcoin.com

每周的重要新闻提要,加上为经济自由提供支持的教育资源和产品及服务更新

What's a self-custodial wallet?

Table of Contents

  1. Custodial versus self-custodial wallets
  2. What's the difference between self-custodial and non-custodial?
  3. Are all cryptocurrency wallets self-custodial?
  4. What are the risks associated with custodial cryptocurrency wallets?
  5. Are there any other reasons to use a self-custodial wallet?
  6. How do I know if I'm using a self-custodial wallet?

Custodial versus self-custodial wallets

In modern finance, it's standard practice for service providers like banks to retain custody of your assets. This means, for example, that when you want to make a withdrawal from your bank account, while you may have a legal claim to the money, the reality is that you're asking for permission from your bank. Banks can and regularly do deny such permission, and their reasons for doing so do not always align with the best interests of individual customers. Further, even when service providers uphold the custody rights of their customers in good faith, factors outside of their control may force them to deny you access to your money. For example, a government may force banks to restrict withdrawals in an attempt to stop runaway inflation, as happened in Greece in 2015. Another, perhaps more insidious example, is Operation Choke Point, where the US government pressured banks to deny service to people involved in a variety of (legal) industries it had identified as morally corrupt.

With the advent of blockchain-supported decentralized systems - of which Bitcoin is the primary example - it became possible, for the first time, to provide self-custodial financial services at a large scale. In the self-custodial model, the customer retains full custody (possession) of their assets at all times, using the service provider merely as an interface for conveniently managing their assets.

When you use a self-custodial wallet (like the Bitcoin.com Wallet), first of all, you don't need to ask for permission to use the service. There's no account approval process, meaning anyone in the world can download the app and start using it immediately. Secondly, only you have access to your funds. This makes it nearly impossible for the service provider (in our case Bitcoin.com), a government, or anyone else to prevent you from using your funds exactly as you wish.

Of course, with great power comes great responsibility! Since you're the only one with access to your funds, you need to manage your wallet carefully. This includes backing up your wallet and adhering to password management best practices.

What's the difference between self-custodial and non-custodial?

Nothing. Self-custodial == non-custodial.

Are all cryptocurrency wallets self-custodial?

Absolutely not. Centralized cryptocurrency exchanges (Coinbase, Binance, etc.) provide custodial cryptocurrency wallets (sometimes known as 'web wallets'). While such exchanges are useful for buying, selling, and trading cryptoassets, when you use these exchanges, your crypto is held in trust by the exchange. Note that with self-custodial wallets like the Bitcoin.com Wallet, you can also buy, sell, and trade cryptocurrencies.

What are the risks associated with custodial cryptocurrency wallets?

The risks are similar to (and in many cases greater than) those associated with holding your money at a bank or using a payment app like PayPal. The risks stem from the fact that, fundamentally, you're not in full control of your funds.

Firstly, you are exposed to the risk that the exchange will go bankrupt. If that happens, it is highly unlikely that you will recover the crypto you held on the exchange.

Second, since taking custody of financial assets is a regulated activity, centralized cryptocurrency exchanges are subject to the whims of regulators in the jurisdiction they are domiciled. And since cryptocurrency regulations are in a state of flux in most regions, this means there's always the possibility that you'll wake up to find you are unable to access your cryptoassets.

Next, the exchange may charge extra fees for withdrawals (which is common), slow down your withdrawal process (also common), or prevent you from withdrawing altogether (rare but not impossible).

Finally, there's the risk that the get hacked. And since cryptocurrency exchanges generally aren't insured and are often registered offshore, it's likely you'll lose your cryptoassets and have no recourse to action.

Are there any other reasons to use a self-custodial wallet?

Self-custodial crypto wallets provide you with direct access to public blockchains. The best wallets, like the Bitcoin.com Wallet, allow you customize the fees you pay to public blockchain miners and validators. This means, for example, that you can choose to pay less for transactions when you're not in a hurry (or more if you're in a rush!). Finally, because self-custodial wallets provide direct access to blockchains, they also enable you to interact with smart contracts. That means, for example, you can access decentralized finance products that enable you to earn passive income.

How do I know if I'm using a self-custodial wallet?

All self-custodial crypto wallets enable you (and only you) to possess the private key associated with your public address. This typically takes the form of either a file or a 'mnemonic phrase' that consists of 12-24 randomly generated words. If your wallet doesn't have this option, it's custodial (meaning you're not in full control of your cryptoassets).

The Bitcoin.com Wallet, which is fully self-custodial, also offers a cloud backup service (in addition to giving you the option to store the private key for each of your wallets as a mnemonic phrase). With the cloud backup service, you create a single custom password that decrypts a file stored in your Google Drive or Apple iCloud account. If you lose access to your device, simply reinstall the Wallet app on a new device, enter your password, and you'll again have access to all of your cryptoassets. Further, whenever you add more wallets within your Bitcoin.com Wallet, your backup file will automatically sync. This means you never have to worry about creating or managing a new backup for each new wallet you create!

Read more: What are the advantages of the Bitcoin.com Wallet cloud backup service?

Was this helpful?

Related guides

Start from here →
How do I create a Bitcoin wallet?

Learn how to quickly and easily create a Bitcoin wallet. Understand the different wallet types and their respective pros & cons.

Read this article →
How do I keep my cryptoassets safe?

Make sure your cryptoassets are safe with these simple tips.

Read this article →
How do I send bitcoin?

Sending bitcoin is as easy as choosing the amount to send and deciding where it goes.

Read this article →
How do I receive bitcoin?

To receive bitcoin, simply provide the sender with your Bitcoin address, which you can find in your Bitcoin wallet.

Read this article →
How is cryptocurrency taxed?

Get the basics of how cryptocurrencies are taxed and what it means for you.

Read this article →
Start from here →
Start investing safely with the Bitcoin.com Wallet
Over wallets created so far

Everything you need to buy, sell, trade, and invest your Bitcoin and cryptocurrency securely

Bitcoin.com in your inbox

A weekly rundown of the news that matter, plus educational resources and updates on products & services that support economic freedom